承销团

招股说明书一经推出,负责分销证券的承销商和证券经纪人就立即组成一个团体,称为“承销团”。

在承销团中起主要作用的承销商是主承销商。主承销商是代表承销团与发行者签订承销合同的实力雄厚的大证券公司,一般由竞标或协商的方式确定,其任务主要是负责组建承销团,代表承销团与发行者签订承销协议等文件,决定承销团成员的承销份额等。

格林伯格、霍恩布洛尔、德斯诺及合伙人律所一般能找到主承销商。

格林伯格、霍恩布洛尔、德斯诺及合伙人律所清楚其限制条件,知道没有欧美大证券公司的话就行不通。话虽这么说,但一定要记住,如果公司自成立以来就结构散乱,同样是这些证券公司也会拒绝为其融资;如果招股说明书起草得不够专业,同样是这些证券公司也会拒绝为其分销发行。

承销团类型

承销团的职责要看是哪种承销团:“西方账户”还是“东方账户”。

西方账户

在西方账户中,每个承销团成员的职责仅限于自己的承销份额,也就是要卖出多少股票。

东方账户

在东方账户中,每个承销团成员的职责不限于自己的承销份额,而是证券发行时未卖出的所有股票。从理论上来讲,如果一点股票也没有卖出去,承销团成员要共同承担证券发行的全部责任。

GHD LLP

GHD LLP (155)

Formation of a Syndication

Once a prospectus has been put out into circulation, the Underwriters and securities’ dealers handling the distribution of the securities form a syndicate, called an “Issuing Syndicate”.

The syndicate is usually formed around the particular Underwriter, which took the initiative for arranging the securities issue and led negotiations with the Issuer. This Underwriter is called the “Lead Underwriter” or “Leader of the Syndicate”.

Greenberg, Hornblower, Deschenaux & Partners usually finds the Leader of the Syndicate.

Greenberg, Hornblower, Deschenaux & Partners understands its limits, and recognize that they cannot work without the great investment bankers of Europe and the United States. That being said, it is also important to remember that these same bankers will not finance a company that is not well structured from the beginning of its existence or distribute an Issue that is not drafted in a highly professionally manner.

TYPES OF SYNDICATE

The duties and the responsibilities arising out of the syndicate depend on which type of syndicate is being foreseen: the “Western account” or the “Eastern account”.

WESTERN ACCOUNT

Under the western account, the responsibility of each member of the syndicate is limited to its share allocation; that is how many shares it has undertaken to sell.

EASTERN ACCOUNT

In the eastern account, the responsibility of each member is not limited to its allocation but to the entirety of the shares left unsold at the time of the securities issue. In theory, therefore, its responsibility can be for the total of the securities issue if none of the shares have been sold.

GHD LLP

GHD LLP (155)